We have been asked to update our 2016 roundup of which politicians are working in departments with a child welfare element, so we’re adding the current state of play below:

Home Office:

Ministry Of Justice:

  • Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice, David Lidington MP
  • Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Youth Justice, Victims, Female Offenders and Offender Health, Dr Phillip Lee MP

Department For Education:

  • Secretary of State for Education and Minister for Women and Equalities, Justine Greening MP
  • Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation, Jo Johnson MP
  • Minister of State for School Standards, and Minister for Equalities, Nick Gibb MP
  • Minister of State for Children and Families, Robert Goodwill MP
  • Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the School System (Unpaid), Lord Nash

Department Of Health:

Department For Work & Pensions:

Department For Digital, Culture, Media And Sport:

Department For Communities And Local Government:

  • Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government (Ministerial Champion for the Midlands Engine), Sajid Javid MP
  • Minister of State for Housing and Planning, Alok Sharma MP

For a full breakdown of departments and which ministers head them, click here. 

Child Welfare In 2017 Who's Who